Skip to: Navigation | Content | Footer

British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media 2018 – the shortlist

Press Gazette has announced the finalists for the first British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media.

Author: News Desk

Posted on: 07 August 2018 06:48

British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media 2018 – the shortlist

Dominic Ponsford: "Judging these awards provided a great reminder of the richness and diversity of Britain’s journalism industry."

This new set of awards has been launched as a subset of the British Journalism Awards to recognise great journalism being carried out on specialist and B2B titles – and by specialist journalists working in the mainstream media.

The winners will be announced at Stationers’ Hall, London, on 17 September 2018.

Press Gazette editor-in-chief and chairman of judges Dominic Ponsford said: “Judging these awards provided a great reminder of the richness and diversity of Britain’s journalism industry when it comes to the business and specialist sectors.

“There was ample evidence of innovation, investigation and revelation by journalists who clearly know and care deeply about their various patches.

“At Press Gazette we know that specialist journalism can be one of the most satisfying areas to work because you are often covering stories that would otherwise not get told.”

Specialist Journalism Awards finalists:


Luke Barratt – Inside Housing

Nathaniel Barker – Inside Housing

Sophie Barnes – Inside Housing

Richard Waite – Architects’ Journal

Charlie Schouten – Place North West

Jack Simpson – Construction News


Charlotte Santry – TES

Stephen Exley – TES

Will Hazel – TES

Jack Grove – Times Higher Education

Jess Staufenberg – Schools Week

Donna Ferguson – The Guardian


The Bureau of Investigative Journalism

The Sunday Times – The Dish

Farmers Guardian – for series on Bovine TB

Marina O’Loughlin – The Sunday Times

Lucy de la Pasture – Crop Production Magazine


Gareth Iacobucci – The BMJ

Lawrence Dunhill – HSJ

Carbon Brief

Lilian Anekwe – Chemist and Druggist

Jessica Hamzelou – New Scientist

Peter Blackburn, Chris Patterson and Neil Hallows – BMA News


Sponsored by Oxford Said Business School

Elliot Smith – Citywire – New Model Adviser

Matei Rosca – S&P Global Market Intelligence

Lucy McNulty – Financial News

Justin Cash – Money Marketing

Becky Pritchard – Financial News


Sponsored by University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability in Leadership

Madeleine Cuff – Business Green

Emma Newlands – Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Marine Gerner – Business Sustainability

Business & Innovaton Magazine


Matthew Holehouse – Mlex

Ruth Green – Global Insight

Ian Weinfass – Police Oracle


Sponsored by Uber

Carlton Reid – BikeBiz

Mark Frary, Rob Gill and David Churchill – Buying Business Travel

Will Dalrymple – Transport Engineer

Tom Richmond – The Yorkshire Post

Steve Dale and Mike Walter – Transportation Professional


Nick Rufford – The Sunday Times

Guy Bird – freelance

Jeremy Clarkson – The Sunday Times

Maggie Barry – Daily Record


Ian Weinfass – Police Oracle

Saba Salman – The Guardian

Bel Clover – HSJ

Lawrence Dunhill – HSJ

Nick Carding – HSJ

Daniel Peters and Mark Conrad – Municipal Journal


Ben Heather – HSJ

Geoff White – The Dark Web podcast for Audible

Clare McDonald – Computer Weekly

Caroline Donnelly – Computer Weekly

Matt Pulzer, Jonny Williamson and Tim Cumming – The Manufacturer

Danny Fortson – The Sunday Times


James Illman – HSJ – for investigation into East of England Ambulance Services Trust

I and Johnston Press team – Knifecrime in Schools investigation

Dan Warburton and Alan Selby – Sunday Mirror – for Inside Amazon

Martin George – TES – Secrecy, conflicts of interest and the democratic deficit in the academy system

Will Hurst – Architects’ Journal – for The Garden Bridge Investigation

Nick Linford, Paul Offord, Billy Camden and John Dickens – FE Week – Learndirect: Catastrophic mismanagement and betrayal of students exposed


Inside Housing


Construction News

The New European


Architects’ Journal

There is no shortlist for the Energy and Commodities category and the Specialist Journalist of the Year award – the winners will instead be announced on the night, says Press Gazette.

Judges took the decision to merge the Food and Farming categories.

comments powered by Disqus

Most read on InPublishing

These are the most read stories on the InPublishing website over the last 14 days, in order from the top.


Events: no longer an add-on

Ciar Byrne
Posted on: 24 July 2018

Building affiliate revenue streams: dos and don’ts

Keith Walker
Posted on: 24 July 2018

Language lessons

Peter Sands
Posted on: 24 July 2018

Off The Page

David Hepworth
Posted on: 24 July 2018

The Royals: still good for sales?

Liz Gerard
Posted on: 24 July 2018

How to boost your branded content offer

Graham Hayday
Posted on: 19 July 2018

Reinventing the Post

Ray Snoddy
Posted on: 24 July 2018

Tooling up for the job

James Evelegh
Posted on: 24 July 2018

This list is based on data from Google Analytics, and is refreshed every 24 hours. (Last updated: 14/08/2018 05:15)

Find out more about

Featured job

Chief Executive Officer
Salary: On application
NewstrAid Benevolent Fund
Bishps Stortford

Featured in InPublishing Jobs

InPub Weekly: Sign-up

Click here to sign up for our free weekly email newsletter:

Sign up now!

Magazine registration

Next Top Tips Webinar

Paid Content Strategies: Q & A

2.30-3.30pm (BST), Monday 17 September 2018

Peter Houston

Webinar sponsored by

Publishing Partners Guide

Guide to paid-content