Unlike with Twitter’s “retweet” a reposted video will not show on your TikTok profile, but rather will send the video out to your friends’ “For You” feeds.
When you press the Repost button on a video you want to share, TikTok informs you that it will be shared to all your friends. It also gives you the option to share a message about why you reposted the video.
The button is also not available throughout the whole platform. For instance it is not an available option for videos found through the “Discover” page, but rather appears only when browsing your “For You” feed.
There is also the ability to remove a repost should you wish to undo your sharing. This will also delete any message you’ve added to the video.
During the testing period the button has only been made available to a small sample of users. However, it has nevertheless attracted plenty of social media attraction as users have been posting screenshots of the new feature.
“We’re always thinking about new ways to bring value to our community and enrich the TikTok experience. Currently, we’re experimenting with a new way for people to share TikTok videos they enjoy,” a TikTok spokesperson told TechCrunch.
Keep up-to-date with publishing news: sign up here for InPubWeekly, our free weekly e-newsletter.