Mobile navigation


Press Awards 2024: Winners announced

Journalists and newspapers have been celebrated at a London ceremony; with The Times and Sunday Times named Newspaper of the Year and Sunday Newspaper of the Year.

Press Awards 2024: Winners announced

The winners of the 2024 Press Awards have been announced at a celebration dinner, with 35 prizes handed out.

Winners at the event, held at the Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square on 18 April and hosted by journalist and broadcaster Samira Ahmed, included stablemates The Times and Sunday Times, who were named Newspaper of the Year and Sunday Newspaper of the Year respectively.

The Financial Times won the Scoop of the Year award for its coverage of sexual assault allegations involving celebrated financier Crispin Odey, while The Times’ exposure of British Gas forcibly fitting pre-payment meters in the homes of vulnerable customers landed it Investigation of the Year. Other notable winners included The Telegraph (News Website of the Year), The Guardian’s David Conn (News Reporter of the Year) and The Observer’s Laura Cumming (Critic of the Year).

The Press Awards, inaugurated in 1963, foster a friendly rivalry between newspapers and showcasing the vital importance of independent journalism. They are supplemented by the Regional Press Awards, the winners of which were announced on 16 April. The awards are produced by Haymarket Media Group on behalf of the News Media Association.

The Press Awards winners in full are listed below:

  • Young Journalist of the Year - Svitlana Morenets, The Spectator
  • Cartoonist of the Year - Chris Riddell, The Observer
  • Photographer of the Year - Simon Townsley, The Telegraph
  • Sports Photographer of the Year - Tom Jenkins, The Guardian
  • Showbiz Reporter of the Year - Rosamund Irwin and Charlotte Wace, The Times and Sunday Times
  • Specialist Journalist of the Year - Jessica Hill, Schools Week
  • Business and Finance Journalist of the Year - Anna Isaac, The Guardian
  • Data Journalist of the Year - Sondre Ulvund Solstad, The Economist
  • The Hugh McIlvanney Award for Sports Journalist of the Year - Martyn Ziegler, The Times
  • Health Journalist of the Year - Sarah Neville, Financial Times
  • Environment Journalist of the Year - Ben Webster, openDemocracy
  • Travel Journalist of the Year - Chris Leadbeater, The Telegraph
  • Science and Technology Journalist of the Year - Madhumita Murgia, Financial Times
  • Foreign Reporter of the Year - Louise Callaghan, Sunday Times
  • Political Journalist of the Year - Georgia Edkins, The Scottish Mail on Sunday
  • News Reporter of the Year - David Conn, The Guardian
  • Broadsheet Interviewer of the Year - Decca Aitkenhead, Sunday Times
  • Tabloid Interviewer of the Year - Alison Phillips, Daily Mirror
  • Broadsheet Feature Writer of the Year - Jennifer Williams, Financial Times
  • Tabloid Feature Writer of the Year - Ian Birrell, Freelance
  • Broadsheet columnist of the year - Hadley Freeman, Sunday Times
  • Tabloid Columnist of the Year - Sarah Vine, Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday
  • Critic of the Year - Laura Cumming, The Observer
  • Excellence in Diversity Award [200] - Cotton Capital, The Guardian
  • News App of the Year - FT Edit, Financial Times
  • News Podcast of the Year - The Trial of Lucy Letby, Daily Mail
  • News Website of the Year - The Telegraph
  • Supplement of the Year - FT Magazine, Financial Times
  • Campaign of the Year - Clean It Up Campaign, The Times
  • Broadsheet Front Page of the Year - The Lockdown Files, The Telegraph
  • Tabloid Front Page of the Year - War on Israel, Mail on Sunday
  • Investigation of the Year - British Gas, The Times
  • Scoop of the Year - How Crispin Odey Evaded Sexual Assault Allegations for Decades, Financial Times
  • Sunday Newspaper of the Year - Sunday Times
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year - The Times
The Press Awards: "The winners of the 2024 Press Awards have been announced at a celebration dinner, with 35 prizes handed out." Photograph: Supplied by Haymarket.

Keep up-to-date with publishing news: sign up here for InPubWeekly, our free weekly e-newsletter.