Mobile navigation


Financial Times partners with Schroders for award

Earlier this month, The Financial Times and Schroders agreed a new partnership for the FT Business Book of the Year Award.

Financial Times partners with Schroders for award
Roula Khalaf: “I’m delighted to welcome Schroders as partner for our long-running and acclaimed Business Book of the Year Award.”

The Financial Times (FT) says the Business Book of the Year Award, now in its nineteenth year, highlights ground-breaking books that explore important business and economic issues. The award is given to the book that the judges agree provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into today’s business issues, including management, finance and economics. The winner will receive an award of £30,000 and £10,000 will be awarded to each shortlisted title.

FT editor Roula Khalaf said: “I’m delighted to welcome Schroders as partner for our long-running and acclaimed Business Book of the Year Award. I'm also grateful to Nikkei for supporting this year's prize. It has been a bumper year for business books and I look forward to reviewing the longlisted titles with our expert judges."

Schroders’ Group chief executive Peter Harrison said: “We’re proud to support a prize which showcases the sharpest and most visionary thinking in the fields of business, economics, environment and society. The authors and their books inevitably grapple with many of the world’s biggest challenges – something which is fundamental also to our role in looking after clients’ money.”

The FT has outlined the judging panel for the Business Book of the Year Award, chaired by Roula Khalaf as follows:

  • Mimi Alemayehou, founder and managing partner, Semai Ventures LLC
  • Daisuke Arakawa, managing director for Global Business, Nikkei Inc
  • Mitchell Baker, chief executive officer, Mozilla Corporation; chairwoman, Mozilla Foundation
  • Peter Harrison, group chief executive, Schroders
  • Herminia Ibarra, Charles Handy Professor of Organisational Behaviour, London Business School
  • James Kondo, chairman, International House of Japan
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R. Bobins professor of economics, University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business
  • Shriti Vadera, chair, Prudential Plc and Royal Shakespeare Company.

The FT says the longlist for the Business Book of the Year Award was announced on August 14, with the shortlist announcement scheduled for September 21. The winner will be announced at an awards dinner in London on December 4.

Previous winners of the book award include: Chris Miller in 2022 for Chip War: The Fight for the World's Most Critical Technology, which explored the fight for semiconductors and the quest for supply chain resilience; Nicole Perlroth in 2021 for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race, an analysis of the threat posed by the arms race between cyber criminals, spies and hackers fighting to infiltrate essential computer systems; Sarah Frier in 2020 for No Filter, on the rise of Instagram; Caroline Criado Perez in 2019 for Invisible Women, her exposé of gender bias; John Carreyrou in 2018 for Bad Blood, about the Theranos scandal; and Amy Goldstein in 2017 for Janesville, which looks at the impact of plant closures on a Wisconsin town.

Keep up-to-date with publishing news: sign up here for InPubWeekly, our free weekly e-newsletter.