FT editor Roula Khalaf to deliver 2022 Hugh Cudlipp Lecture

The editor of the Financial Times, Roula Khalaf, will give the 2022 Hugh Cudlipp Lecture, on Wednesday 4 May.

FT editor Roula Khalaf to deliver 2022 Hugh Cudlipp Lecture
Roula Khalaf.

The free lecture will take place at the Royal Over-Seas League at Six Park Place, St James's London SW1A 1LR on Wednesday 4 May from 7pm. You can register for a free place here.

It will be the first time the Cudlipp Lecture has been given since the Covid-19 pandemic began.

The event was created and named in memory of the late Lord Cudlipp, the former editorial director of the Daily Mirror, a past President of the London Press Club and one of the pioneers of 20th century popular tabloid journalism.

Hosted by the London Press Club and sponsored by the Daily Mirror and Cision Ltd, the lecture gives a platform for a high-profile media professional to address key developments and issues in today’s news business.

Roula Khalaf is Editor of the Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations. The FT claims a paying readership of 1.2 million, more than one million of which are digital subscriptions. Khalaf was previously deputy editor from 2016 to 2020, overseeing a range of newsroom initiatives and editorial projects and leading a global network of over 100 foreign correspondents.

Before taking up the deputy editor role, she was the FT's foreign editor and oversaw the FT's operations in Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Before that, as Middle East editor, she launched a Middle East edition and led coverage of the Arab Spring. Khalaf was named foreign commentator of the year at the Editorial Intelligence Comment Awards in 2016 and her series on Qatar won the Foreign Press Association’s Feature story of the year in 2013. She joined the FT in 1995 as North Africa correspondent and before that was a staff writer for Forbes magazine in New York.

Previous givers of the Hugh Cudlipp Lecture include: Robert Peston, George Osborne, James Harding, Kevin Maguire, James Naughtie, Emily Bell, David Walsh, Sir Harold Evans, Jon Snow, Lionel Barber, Alan Rusbridger, Rebekah Wade, Alastair Campbell, Paul Dacre, Andrew Marr, Lord Grade, Felicity Green, Piers Morgan, Geoffrey Goodman, Derek Jameson, Bob Edwards and Peter Carter Ruck.

Keep up-to-date with publishing news: sign up here for InPubWeekly, our free weekly e-newsletter.