New ticketing system for NME Awards

NME has announced a new process for ticket sales to the Shockwaves NME Awards 2010, which will take place February 24, 2010 at O2 Academy Brixton Academy.

Due to “overwhelming” demand for tickets last year, NME will this year introduce a registration process for the first time, limiting the purchase to two tickets per person. Registration for the 1,000 tickets available will be opened in November via a dedicated microsite on NME.COM.

In January fans will be informed whether or not they have been successful and will be emailed a code and link enabling them to purchase their reserved tickets via NME partner See Tickets.

The Shockwaves NME Awards 2010 will be returning to London’s most legendary music venue, O2 Academy Brixton, to honour some of the greatest names in rock and celebrating the best in new music from 2009, as well as firmly setting the agenda for the year to come.  

This will be the sixth year the internationally renowned Awards are sponsored by hair styling giant Shockwaves. 

Paul Cheal, publishing director of NME, says: “Following our return to the O2 Academy Brixton last year we were able to give even more of the world's most passionate music fans access to the Shockwaves NME Awards themselves. Following the phenomenal demand this year, in 2010 we want to make sure that we are being as fair as possible in the distribution of tickets."

Krissi Murison (pictured), editor of NME, says: “This year’s event was a seriously hot ticket with Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon reunited on stage for the first time; Florence Welch performing with Glasvegas and La Roux’s duet with Franz Ferdinand. It will be great to be back at Brixton for the 2010 awards and the line-up will be just as spectacular.”

Further details of the Shockwaves NME Awards 2010 will be announced shortly.

About NME

IPC Media says: “NME is the longest published and most respected music weekly in the world. Every week it gives its readers the most exciting, most authoritative coverage of the very best in contemporary music.”

About the NME Awards

IPC Media says: “Dating back to 1953 (a year after the launch of NME), the NME Awards has remained one of the most important and prestigious events for British music fans. NME has been responsible for bringing together some of the biggest names in rock ‘n’ roll history, including: Ronnie Scott (’53), The Beatles (’63/4), Rolling Stones (’66), The Who (’66), Noel Gallagher (’03), New Order (’05), Ian Brown (’06), Manic Street Preachers (’08) and The Cure ('09).”